jump to navigation

Out Hud: Let Us Never Speak of It Again (2005) September 23, 2009

Posted by sjroby in Music.
Tags:
trackback
Out Hud: Let Us Never Speak of It Again

Out Hud: Let Us Never Speak of It Again

(Damn, that’s an ugly album cover.)

Okay, let’s listen to some of that music that’s been listened to once or twice and all but forgotten about, as discussed in the last post.

Out Hud is one of those New York bands lumped into the dancepunk scene a few years ago, like the Rapture, !!!, and LCD Soundsystem and… well, I never really got into that scene, so I dunno. (Too often I could hear what I thought the bands in that scene were trying to do, but they didn’t have the hooks or the songs to pull it off.)

Apparently they started out a bit noisier and more confrontational but by this album they’re playing straightforward ’80s revivalism, pretty much. A mix of synthpop, electro, and disco is what I’m hearing so far, smooth danceable beats, synths, airy female vocals, a little noise burst of jagged electric guitar here and there… they’re pushing a lot of my buttons, I have to admit. I like Ladytron, I like Ladyhawke, I like Annie, I like Sally Shapiro, I just downloaded Telepathe, so I do like girls singing over synths and dance beats and a whole lot of ’80sness. I like some ’90s electronica, too, and that sound is present here as well.

As the album goes on, it moves away from that dance pop sound a bit. The fifth track, “The Song So Good They Named It Thrice,” is a long, stomping dance instrumental, and though the next track, “How Long,” ends up solidly in that girly dance pop arena, it has a long, atmospheric intro. “2005: A Face Odyssey” has a bit of a ’70s instrumental soul/disco feel blended in with the ’80s electronics.

So how did this slip between the cracks and not get the kind of attention Ladytron et al. get in this house? So far, I’m not sure. There’s not a hell of a lot of personality to some of the music but there’s nothing obviously wrong, either. It may have suffered from coming out when I was spending a lot of time listening to the more guitar-oriented revivalists, like Interpol, Bloc Party, the Kaiser Chiefs, Franz Ferdinand, etc. As I listen to more of this, I find myself liking it more, and it’s getting more interesting (“The Zillionth Watt” is an odd, very short track starting with a wave of harps and distorted vocals; the harps drop out, a beat kicks in, and shortly thereafter, we’re into the next big dance tune).

I’m making a mental note not to let this slide back into the vault of forgotten albums.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

